The Snowman by Jo Nesbo – Book Review

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo - Reviewed

The Snowman by Jo Nesbo

Rating – **

To skip or read – Skip it if you’re looking for a simple, fast-moving plot.

Synopsis – The seventh book in the Harry Hole series by Jo Nesbo, this novel follows Inspector Hole as he attempts to solve what appears to be a series of killings by a murderer who leaves a snowman outside every home he kills in.

Review – I don’t know about you, but when I read crime thrillers, I look for two things –

1. A story whose twist I won’t see coming, and
2. Characters in settings that are interesting, well fleshed out.

#1 is often difficult to accomplish, so I like the book even if it undertakes #2.

This novel, however, did neither. I had heard a lot about the Hole series, and about Jo Nesbo’s successes in general, which is the reason I picked up the safest bet – his most popular book, one that has been adapted to the big screen as well.

I wish I hadn’t. To begin with, the title character, i.e. Harry Hole is a caricature. An inspector afflicted with one of the most common flaws – alcohol addiction, he tries every possible solution before stumbling onto the right one in the end.

Additionally, the twist or the big reveal can be guessed almost as soon as the set of characters are introduced. I won’t say anymore – no spoilers here!

To sum up, if you’re looking for a delicious read to keep you guessing and on your toes, you won’t find it here.

Leave a comment