Becoming by Michelle Obama – Review

Becoming by Michelle Obama - Reviewed

Becoming by Michelle Obama

Rating – ****

To skip or read – Read it!

Synopsis – Becoming is Michelle Obama’s memoir. The former First Lady tracks her journey from a simple, black working-class neighbourhood in Chicago to becoming a person of power, to owning her own voice and journey despite challenges and naysayers.

Review – I’ll be honest – I had fears about this one. Some years ago, I had attempted Hilary Clinton’s Living History, only to abandon it halfway, my head spinning with her liberal addition of heavy political views and policies. Becoming seemed similar, so when I began reading, I was pleasantly surprised.

Watching Michelle Obama at televised speeches and events worldwide, one has an idea of her intelligence, poise and kindness, which truly comes home in her memoir. It felt personal – almost as if I was sitting next to her, with her talking at length about her life.

Inspiring and encouraging, Becoming showcases Michelle Obama right from her childhood, to her career choices, to her transition into a wife and a mother. While I am not American or black, which is at the core of her personality, I still connected deeply to the message of hope, inclusivity and optimism she relays throughout.

The only thing I felt was missing? A practical, deeper look at how many other women can juggle work and home, leverage their skills and make new connections the way she did, to rise beyond.

All in all, Becoming is a must-read, with a message for all who aspire to go past their limitations – Are we enough? Yes, we are.

1 Comment

Leave a comment